October Reading

I thought I would do something a little different this October. Instead of recommending movies, I will recommend books to read during the Halloween season. You can find my movie recommendations easily enough, and they have not changed much. There is nothing like finding that perfect book to guide you into the Fall and get you in the mood for candy corn breezes, skittering shadows and howling at the moon. Without further ado…

Dracula by Bram Stoker: If you don’t know what this book is about, I pity you.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova: This eerie tome will capture you in dark shadows and far off places, and drown you gently in its splendid prose.

Anno Dracula: What if Dracula lived through Bram Stoker’s tale? It won’t be pretty…

From the Dust Returned: A fabulous collection of tales woven by the master of October. Read each one carefully and bathe in the magic of the night.

The Savage Tales of Solomon Cane by Robert E. Howard: You can choose any of the stories in this collection to read or read them all. Kane will take you into the thrilling dark wild and face things that will make your bones quake.

The Poems of Edgar Allen Poe: Take your pick. My personal favorites are The Raven and The Bells. You will easily find your fill of the macabre and spooky within Poe’s verses.

I will leave you with these for now. I bid you good night…and a good haunt.

Pumpkins